Trust AAE Speakers Bureau for Booking Top Professional Speakers. Find a Keynote Speaker Today.
Trust AAE Speakers Bureau for Booking Top Professional Speakers. Find a Keynote Speaker Today.
Michael Eric Dyson

Michael Eric Dyson

Keynote Speaker: MSNBC Political Analyst, Former Host of NPR's "The Michael Eric Dyson Show" & Best-Selling Author

Michael Eric Dyson Biography

Michael Eric Dyson is one of the nation’s most renowned professors, gifted writers, inspiring preachers, knowledgeable lecturers, and prominent media personalities. As a teacher who earned a PhD in Religion from Princeton University, Dyson has taught at some of the nation’s most distinguished universities, including Brown, UNC Chapel Hill, Columbia, DePaul, the University of Pennsylvania, and Georgetown University. He is presently Distinguished University Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies, College of Arts & Science, and Distinguished University Professor of Ethics and Society, The Divinity School, and Centennial Professor at Vanderbilt University. Dyson is one of America’s premier public intellectuals and author of over 20 books, including seven New York Times bestsellers, and is a political analyst for MSNBC. He has won two NAACP Image Awards and an American Book Award, and last year was awarded the Langston Hughes Medal.

Dyson has written bestselling volumes on Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, 2Pac, Marvin Gaye, Bill Cosby, and Barack Obama. Dyson’s New York Times bestselling "Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America," was called by the New York Times, ”one of the most frank and searing discussions on race…a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin’s 'The Fire Next Time' and King’s 'Why We Can’t Wait'.” The book won the 2018 Southern Book Prize. In December 2020, Dyson published the instant national bestseller "Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America," which Robin DiAngelo calls a “searing cry for racial justice from one of our nation’s greatest thinkers and most compelling prophets.” Kirkus Review says it is a “sweeping overview of racism in America” and a “timely, fervent message from an important voice,” while NPR says that “the writing is smart and the research that informs it is great, but what makes this an important book is Dyson’s voice, which is strong but always pregnant with frustration, pain, admiration and, ultimately, hope.” Dyson’s latest book is “Entertaining Race: Performing Blackness in America.”

As a preacher and sometime pastor for more than 40 years, Dyson has mounted many of the nation’s most noted pulpits to deliver sermons, including, most recently, the Washington National Cathedral where Martin Luther King, Jr., delivered his last Sunday sermon. Dyson has lectured across the country, and around the world, in many of the best colleges and universities, and in public theaters and auditoriums, and for many corporations and unions. He has also served for the last 30 years as a media commentator – and occasionally host – on every major radio and television show. Dyson has even found time to make guest appearances on scripted cable and network television programs such as Soul Food, The Game and Black-ish. While feminist author Naomi Wolf calls Dyson “the ideal public intellectual of our times,” writer Nathan McCall captures it best when he says that Dyson “is a street fighter in suit and tie.”

Contact a speaker booking agent to check availability on Michael Eric Dyson and other top speakers and celebrities.

Michael Eric Dyson Speaking Topics

Race, Racism & Race Relations in America

Martin Luther King Jr & (African) American Leadership in the 21st Century

Come Hell or High Water: Hurricane Katrina & the Color of Disaster

Is Bill Cosby Right? Or Has the Black Middle Class Lost Its Mind?

Dr. King for the 21st Century

Michael Eric Dyson Videos

Alicia Garza, Michael Eric Dyson, and Eugene Scott - Aspen Ideas Festival
Stephen A. & Dr. Michael Eric Dyson discuss Americans protesting ...
Michael Eric Dyson: Made In America | Real Time with Bill Maher ...

How do I book Michael Eric Dyson to speak at my event?

Our experienced booking agents have successfully helped clients around the world secure speakers like Michael Eric Dyson for speaking engagements, personal appearances, product endorsements, or corporate entertainment since 2002. Click the Check Schedule button above and complete the form on this page to check availability for Michael Eric Dyson, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536 to discuss your upcoming event. One of our experienced agents will be happy to help you get speaking fee information and check availability for Michael Eric Dyson or any other speaker of your choice.

How much does it cost to book Michael Eric Dyson for a speaking engagement?

Speaking fees for Michael Eric Dyson, or any other speakers and celebrities, are determined based on a number of factors and may change without notice. The estimated fees to book Michael Eric Dyson are $20,000 - $30,000 for live events and $10,000 - $20,000 for virtual events. For the most current speaking fee to hire Michael Eric Dyson, click the Check Schedule button above and complete the form on this page, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536 to speak directly with an experienced booking agent.

What topics does Michael Eric Dyson speak about?

Michael Eric Dyson is a keynote speaker and industry expert who speaks on a wide range of topics such as Political, Government, Diversity, Black Heritage, Authors, Social Activism, Business, Economy, Technology, Healthcare, Education, Literary, Culture, Business Leadership, Military, News & Media and Social Justice.

Where does Michael Eric Dyson travel from?

Michael Eric Dyson generally travels from Nashville, TN, USA and can be booked for (private) corporate events, personal appearances, keynote speeches, or other performances.

Who is the agent for Michael Eric Dyson?

AAE Speakers Bureau has successfully secured keynote speakers like Michael Eric Dyson for clients worldwide since 2002. As a full-service speaker booking agency, we have access to virtually any speaker or celebrity in the world. Our agents are happy and able to submit an offer to the speaker or celebrity of your choice, letting you benefit from our reputation and long-standing relationships in the industry. Please click the Check Schedule button above and complete the form on this page including the details of your event, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536, and one of our agents will assist you to book Michael Eric Dyson for your next private or corporate function.

What is a full-service speaker booking agency?

AAE Speakers Bureau is a full-service speaker booking agency, meaning we can completely manage the speaker’s or celebrity’s engagement with your organization from the time of booking your speaker through the event’s completion. We provide all of the services you need to host Michael Eric Dyson or any other speaker of your choice, including offer negotiation, contractual assistance, accounting and billing, and event speaker travel and logistics services. When you book a speaker with us, we manage the process of hosting a speaker for you as an extension of your team. Our goal is to give our clients peace of mind and a best-in-class service experience when booking a speaker with us.

Why is AAE Speakers Bureau different from other booking agencies?

If you’re looking for the best speaker recommendations, paired with a top-notch customer service experience, you’re in the right place. At AAE Speakers Bureau, we exclusively represent the interests of our clients - professional organizations, companies, universities, and associations. We intentionally do not represent the speakers we feature or book. That is so we can present our clients with the broadest and best performing set of speaker options in the market today, and we can make these recommendations without any obligation to promote a specific speaker over another. This is why when our agents suggest a speaker for your event, you can be assured that they are of the highest quality with a history of proven success with our other clients.


Michael Eric Dyson is a keynote speaker and industry expert who speaks on a wide range of topics including Political, Government and Diversity. The estimated speaking fee range to book Michael Eric Dyson for live events is $20,000 - $30,000, and for virtual events $10,000 - $20,000. Michael Eric Dyson generally travels from Nashville, TN, USA and can be booked for (private) corporate events, personal appearances, keynote speeches, or other performances. Similar motivational celebrity speakers are Bakari Sellers, Nikki Giovanni and Dr. Marc Lamont Hill. Contact All American Speakers for ratings, reviews, videos and information on scheduling Michael Eric Dyson for an upcoming event.

Michael Eric Dyson Speaking Topics

  • Race, Racism & Race Relations in America

  • Martin Luther King Jr & (African) American Leadership in the 21st Century

  • Come Hell or High Water: Hurricane Katrina & the Color of Disaster

  • Is Bill Cosby Right? Or Has the Black Middle Class Lost Its Mind?

  • Dr. King for the 21st Century

Michael Eric Dyson Videos

Alicia Garza, Michael Eric Dyson, and Eugene Scott - Aspen Ideas Festival
Stephen A. & Dr. Michael Eric Dyson discuss Americans protesting ...
Michael Eric Dyson: Made In America | Real Time with Bill Maher ...
Michael Eric Dyson speaks at Aretha Franklin funeral service ...

Michael Eric Dyson Reviews

  • Rockstar Games - Jun 27 2022

  • Overall it was outstanding!
    Rutgers University School of Social Work - Jun 03 2022

  • Our "Open Conservation with Michael Eric Dyson" was a successful Black History Month event!
    California Air Resources Board - Mar 03 2022

  • As always it is a pleasure working with AAE. They are always timely and on top of the coordination. Most importantly they keep you updated on the progress of preplanning calls. Negotiated contract items and contract process.
    A2mend - Sep 28 2020

Michael Eric Dyson News

BOOKING INFORMATION REQUEST
MICHAEL ERIC DYSON

We are happy to assist you with your interest in booking a speaker or celebrity for your event, your organization, and the type of talent you would like to secure, and an agent will be in touch shortly.

Fill out the form below to or call us at 1-800-698-2536 if need immediate assistance.

Tell us about your event!

We respond to most inquiries within 4 hours. Under special circumstances, it may take up to 24 hours.


This website is a resource for event professionals and strives to provide the most comprehensive catalog of thought leaders and industry experts to consider for speaking engagements. A listing or profile on this website does not imply an agency affiliation or endorsement by the talent.

All American Entertainment (AAE) exclusively represents the interests of talent buyers, and does not claim to be the agency or management for any speaker or artist on this site. AAE is a talent booking agency for paid events only. We do not handle requests for donation of time or media requests for interviews, and cannot provide celebrity contact information.